Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Genghis Khan was a Health Care Reformer (and other Observations)
11 mai 2004

MY THEORY ON PARTICIPLES: PART II

No one listens in Hollywood.  I rant and rave on my blog…I mean, "website"…which is serviced by the French, and still the big studio executives come up with:

 

 

There they go, using a participle in a movie title.  Yes, she's hot.  Yes, when a bus bearing her poster drives by, there is a need to search through law books in order to verify whether physically assaulting a bus earns the maximum sentence.  But still, the movie WILL be bad.  The synopsis itself earns a groan or two: "A self-centered blond New York City party girl (Kate Hudson) inherits her sister's three kids (ages 5, 10, and 15) and, after becoming a single parent overnight seeks guidance (and redemption from her decadent lifestyle) by embarking on a love affair with the minister at the kids' school..."

Hmph!  Since the last entry addressing this issue (ignore the poem and the oversized comic dividing the two), more than one example has been suggested to me by my avid readers.  Bringing Down the House, suggested by E.H.: excellent example.  E.H. also suggested Van Helsing as an honorable mention, because it includes that pernicious Ing that is a fouler creature than any CGI'd beast that Hugh Jackman fights in that movie.  M.B. agreed with my comments, and thought that Debbie Doing Dallas would have sounded a lot worse than Debbie Does Dallas.  S.C. suggested Kissing Jessica Stein, being a good movie, as an exception to my theory, and the reviewers would seem to agree with her.  I know, readers, it's too much.  First I show you Kate Hudson and now I start quoting movies that carry a girl-meets-girl theme…By the way, one of the worst movies I've ever seen in my life (it was automatically short-listed upon viewing) is The Wedding Planner.  A gerundive, not a participle.  Terrible.  God-awful.  Dismal.        

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
S
I said that Kissing Jessica Stein was a GREAT movie. And all movies that have girl-on-girl action should be promoted....Gia, Bound, Where the Boys Aren't 14. If the Hollywood made more movies about the love that woman share for each other and shoes, this world would be a better place.
Publicité